Defending a Utah DUI charge can be a challenge. You need DUI Lawyers in Ogden UT, because the odds are stacked against you.
The principal witnesses against you are police officers, and the evidence presented is either a breath test or blood test. There is also the videotape of your arrest and the officer’s testimony, which may give damaging evidence against you.
If you want to keep your driving privileges, you need to request a hearing with the Driver License Division within ten days of your arrest.
This process can be tedious and time-consuming. It may be a good idea to hire DUI Lawyers in Ogden UT, to handle everything for you.
Utah DUI Laws Are Strict and Unforgiving
A DUI offense in Utah is no laughing matter and should not be taken lightly. If you have been charged with drunk driving, you should look for the best DUI Lawyers in Ogden, UT, to handle your case.
Utah’s DUI laws are stringent, so you need an experienced lawyer to protect you.
First-time offenders can face mandatory jail time or community service while subsequent offenses carry even heavier penalties.
DUI in Utah also mandates suspension of your driver’s license, and if you are not familiar with the procedure, you can lose your license for years.
You should never get behind the wheel if you have been drinking. You can pose a danger not only to yourself but to others as well. This is the reason why the laws are strict.
In Utah, a person is charged with DUI if he has a blood or breath alcohol concentration of .08 grams or more at the time of driving a vehicle.
For first time offenders, you can face a class B misdemeanor sentence which carries jail time of at least 48 hours and a minimum fine of $700; this can go up to 6 months jail time and a $1,000 fine. You also get your license suspended for 120 days.
Further, if your DUI offense resulted in bodily injury to another or if you had an 18-year-old or younger passenger on board at the time of your offense, then you are looking at a class A misdemeanor on your hands.
This case can result in a one-year jail sentence and a $2,500 fine plus several hundred dollars in court costs and other related penalties.
As you can see, even if you are a first time offender, you can get into big trouble with Utah DUI laws.
Get in touch with trusted and reliable DUI Lawyers at Godfrey Law Firm for the quick resolution of your DUI case.
Drunk Driving Statistics in 2020 That You Should Know About
Did you know that every day, 30 people die in drunk driving crashes in America?
The US is on its way to becoming a leader in drunk driving, and it’s not something that we should be proud of.
What makes matters worse is that America is the second-largest car market in the world, with over 276 million vehicles on the road in 2019.
Here are some statistics that should cause us to institute real change:
- 17% of children who lost their lives in traffic accidents were caused by drunk driving
- One of the most common injuries of DUI is a spinal cord injury
- 28.7 million have admitted that they have committed DUI in 2013
- One in three people will get involved in a DUI crash in their lifetime
- Suicide attempts are related to DUI
- 54% of children who died in a DUI crash had intoxicated drivers
- Stats show that based on deduction, first time DUI offenders have driven 80 times under the influence before they got caught
- DUI drivers are behind the wheel more than 300,000 times daily while only 2800 of them get arrested
- 1,837 people died in car crashes caused by drivers with low alcohol levels in 2017
- America is the third-worst country worldwide for DUI
America’s DUI statistics have reached alarming levels. The total number of drunk drivers on the road are shocking, to say the least. Repeat offenders and children getting killed due to DUI drivers should cause us to wake up and make a change.
Utah laws on DUI are designed to curb the number of DUI offenders.
At Godfrey Law, we would be glad to help you with your DUI offense, but we desire that you won’t become a repeat offender.
We all want our roads safe for everyone to enjoy.
Best DUI Lawyers in Ogden UT
You don’t need to call Siri or Google and ask for DUI Lawyers in Ogden UT, because we’ve got you covered.
Here at Godfrey Law, we have been defending DUI cases for Utah residents since 1984. That’s a ton of experience in helping Utah drivers get through every possible scenario you can think of.
We would love to share vital information on the whole DUI process that may help you make significant decisions.
If you are facing DUI charges, you can do some pretty serious jail time. You should know that felony convictions can have severe impacts on job security, housing, and future education plans.
We understand that stress can be daunting when dealing with DUI charges. We can defend you and help keep you out of prison.
We can help you choose your best options and push for a favorable outcome in court.
Godfrey Law Advantage
- Free Consultation
- Best rates in Utah
- Accurate Advice
- Free Evaluation
- Over three decades of experience
- Strict with Confidentiality
We pride ourselves on having an advanced technology-driven process management system in place that leads to the best results at lower costs.
We provide smart and cost-effective solutions for all your legal problems.
We are proud to call Utah our home and are committed to helping families that live in this State.
We can help you save your driving privileges, keep your license, and prevent you from landing in jail.
Let’s talk! Give us a call so we can defend you against DUI charges!
Call or send us a message on our website.